Sustainability reporting

In response to regulatory requirements and growing stakeholder expectations, companies are increasingly reporting on how sustainably they are operating by disclosing the relevant strategies, behaviours, facts and figures. We help you carefully plan your sustainability reporting and embed it in your overall communications.

GRI Standards and integrated reporting

Around 70% of companies in the SMI Expanded index (representing the country’s 50 largest-cap stocks) now produce a full sustainability report, most in line with the GRI (Global Reporting Initiative) standards or as an integrated report. The advantage of established standards for users is that they make it immediately apparent whether a company fulfils specific criteria. Many reports, however, give only a limited picture of how sustainable the organisation’s business model is, how it puts sustainability into practice, and how well it’s harnessing opportunities to become more sustainable.

Pragmatic sustainability reporting for SMEs

Not every company is able or willing to report on sustainability in accordance with an international standard. Even so, it’s a good idea for any company to report on its sustainability-related activities and objectives. These days even SMEs are expected to provide their stakeholders with a transparent account of their sustainability efforts. Together with specialists, we have built a store of expertise from which particularly cost-efficient and pragmatically managed SMEs can benefit.

Advantages of alternative sustainability reporting

The benefits of our alternative approach include low barriers to entry, rapid results and high communication impact. Starting with outside-in thinking and based on the idea of a truly sustainable business, it is primarily designed to identify and name positive solutions. It’s still important to avoid and quantify negative impacts, but this is no longer the main emphasis. In summary, alternative sustainability reporting offers medium-sized and large SMEs the following benefits:

  • Enables you to communicate with credibility and impact
  • Positions you as a far-sighted, innovative company that takes its social responsibility seriously
  • Embeds aspects of sustainability in your corporate strategy and product/service portfolio
  • Strengthens staff and customer identification with your organisation
  • Makes you more attractive as an employer
  • Sharpens the image and profile of your brand or brands

We offer the following support on your path to pragmatic sustainability reporting:

  • Assessing the requirements and potential
  • Helping you decide on achievable goals within an agreed cost and timeframe
  • Setting relevant focuses in terms of content (materiality analysis)
  • Drawing up a concept and suggesting concrete, practical ways of implementing it
  • Advising and supporting you with implementation
  • Creating content
  • Visualisation (digital and in print), comprehensive production and presentation appropriate to the relevant channels

Reporting in accordance with GRI Standards is possible any time, either in parallel with or downstream of our alternative sustainability approach.

Sustainable Publishing

Sustainability Reporting zeigt auf, wie nachhaltig sich ein Unternehmen gegenüber seinen Anspruchsgruppen verhält. Die Offenlegung der relevanten Strategien, Verhaltensweisen, Daten und Fakten erfüllt regulatorische Vorgaben und die steigenden Erwartungen der Stakeholder. Wir helfen Ihnen, das Sustainability Reporting sorgfältig zu planen und in Ihre Gesamt­kommunikation zu integrieren.

GRI-Standards und Integrated Reporting

Von den 50 höchstkapitalisierten Titeln des Schweizer Aktienmarktes (SMI Expanded) publizieren heute rund 70% einen vollständigen Nachhaltigkeitsbericht. Die meisten davon gemäss den GRI-Standards (Global Reporting Initiative) oder als integrierten Bericht (Integrated Reporting). Etablierte Standards haben für den Nutzer den Vorteil, dass sofort klar ist, ob eine Gesellschaft gewisse Kriterien erfüllt. Wie nachhaltig das Geschäftsmodell ist, wie Nachhaltigkeit gelebt wird, und wie stark eine Organisation die Potenziale zur Steigerung der Nachhaltigkeit ausschöpft, geht aus vielen Berichten jedoch meist nur bedingt hervor.

Pragmatische Nachhaltigkeits­bericht­erstattung für KMU

Nicht jedes Unternehmen kann oder will sich eine Nachhaltigkeits­berichterstattung nach einem internationalen Standard leisten. Trotzdem ist jedes Unternehmen gut beraten, über seine Nachhaltigkeits­aktivitäten und -ziele zu berichten. Auch von KMU erwarten die Anspruchs­gruppen heute einen nachvollzieh­baren Ausweis über ihr Nachhaltigkeits­engagement. Zusammen mit Spezialisten haben wir eine Expertise aufgebaut, von der insbesondere kosteneffizient und pragmatisch geführte KMU profitieren können.

Vorteile alternatives Sustainability Reporting

Unser alternativer Ansatz zeichnet sich aus durch tiefe Einstiegshürden, schnelle Resultate und eine starke Kommunikations­wirkung. Die Heran­gehens­weise startet aus einer externen Perspektive (Outside-in-Thinking) und basiert auf dem Ansatz eines «truly sustainable business». Sie strebt primär die Identifizierung und die Benennung positiver Lösungsbeiträge an. Die Vermeidung und Quantifizierung negativer Auswirkungen bleiben wichtig, stehen aber nicht mehr im Vordergrund. Zusammengefasst bietet ein alternatives Sustainability Reporting mittleren und grossen KMUs folgende Vorteile:

  • wirkungsvolles und glaubwürdiges Kommunikations­instrument
  • Positionierung als weitblickendes, innovatives Unternehmen, das seine gesellschaftliche Verantwortung wahrnimmt
  • Einbettung von Nachhaltigkeitsaspekten in die Unternehmens­strategie und das Leistungsspektrum
  • stärkere Verbundenheit der Mitarbeiter und der Kunden mit dem Unternehmen
  • höhere Attraktivität am Arbeitsmarkt
  • Schärfung des Images und Profilierung der Marke bzw. der Marken

Auf dem Weg zu einer pragmatischen Nachhaltigkeits­berichterstattung unterstützen wir Sie wie folgt:

  • Beurteilung der Voraussetzungen und Potenziale
  • gemeinsame Festlegung der innerhalb eines vereinbarten Kosten- und Zeitrahmens erreichbaren Ziele
  • Festlegung der relevanten Inhaltsschwerpunkte (Wesentlichkeitsanalyse)
  • Erarbeitung eines Konzepts mit konkreten, praxisnahen Umsetzungs­vorschlägen
  • Beratung und Unterstützung bei der Umsetzung
  • Erarbeitung der Inhalte
  • Visualisierung (digital und in Print), umfassende Realisierung und kanalgerechte Aufbereitung

Parallel oder nachgelagert zu unserer alternativen Nachhaltigkeits­berichterstattung ist eine Berichterstattung nach GRI-Standards jederzeit möglich.